peter, paul, and mary and thomas

* Inspired by news event on Sept. 10th, 2008 in Philly, PA where 26 y.o. man, Thomas Scantling, entered a subway train with his 5 y.o son and brutally beat an innocent passenger dozing on the train with a hammer.

They sang:

if I had a hammer–

to celebrate civil rights
anthem of 1949 and above

as clock alarms time
to strike again.

They sang:
I’d hammer in the morning
[eight thirty two a.m.

no need for interference]

I’d hammer in the evening
[he cannot sleep through it now]

All over this land
[largest city in Pennsylvania,
sixth most populated in the U.S.
forty ninth most populated in the world]

I’d hammer out danger
[on a subway,
city of Brotherly Love]

I’d hammer out a warning
[some of them noticed, but
nobody told]

I’d hammer out love between my brothers and sisters.
[they would not say a word]

All over this land
[attempted murder, assault—
could they not say a word?]

They sang:
if I had a bell
[first, he used it on himself]

I’d ring it in the morning
[he was sleeping—
weight of hammer against REM too
deep to stitch up]

I’d ring it in the evening
[some of them noticed, but
nobody told]

All over this land
[city of Brotherly Love]

I’d ring out danger
[were they afraid to be the victim?]

I’d ring out a warning
[history of rape, robbery, violation of bodies]

I’d ring out love between my brothers and sisters
[city of Brotherly Love]

All over this land
[they would not say a word/could they not say a word?]

They sang:
If I had a song
[his backpack held the weapon]

I’d sing it in the morning
[to mistake a spike for skin]

I’d sing it in the evening
[would not say a word]

All over this land
[City of Brotherly Love]

I’d ring out danger
[five year old son, sitting
counting the blood spills]

I’d ring out a warning
[not say a word]

I’d ring out love between my brothers and my sisters
[city of Brotherly Love]

All over this land
[as audience watches]

They sang:
Well I’ve got a hammer
[held tightly to his stability]

And I’ve got a bell
[at what point did he awaken?]

And I’ve got a song to sing
[they are all the victim now]

All over this land
[country of
equal opportunity]

It’s the hammer of justice
[bet he’ll plead insanity]

It’s the bell of freedom
[bet they’ll say they misunderstood]

It’s the song about love between my brothers and my sisters
[history of rape, robbery, violation of bodies]

All over this land
[all over this land]

One response to “peter, paul, and mary and thomas

Leave a Reply

