– Focus on the Fabulous

Focus on the Fabulous edited by Matt Kailey

Focus on the Fabulous edited by Matt Kailey

In Colorado, the conservatives are ultra, the liberals are flaming, and the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered population thrives alongside some of the most anti-gay organizations in the country.

Now, in Focus on the Fabulous: Colorado GLBT Voices, thirty-three of the state’s GLBT writers explore their history, their land, their loves, and their lives in a groundbreaking collection of short fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry that is sure to make readers see Colorado–and its GLBT community–in a new and exciting way. From Amendment 2 to gender reassignment and from PrideFest to prairie sage, the diversity reflects the many facets of Colorado as seen through the eyes of its GLBT resident writers.

Focus on the Fabulous: Colorado GLBT Voices is a Westword “Best of Denver” 2008 selection!

Focus on the Fabulous was also on the Denver Post local bestseller list in September 2007.

Praise for Focus on the Fabulous:

“The diversity of our beautiful state is reflected in this collection of works from some of Denver’s and Colorado’s best GLBT authors.” — Denver Mayor John Hickenlooper

“This winning collection has it all — pride, politics, love, lust, mountains, prairies, drag queens on green Vespas, a lesbian love letter to James Dean, and some titillating insider information about Katherine Lee Bates, author of America the Beautiful. Need I say more? Buy this book. Now.” — Shari Caudron, author of Who Are You People?

For the first time ever, Colorado’s GLBT voices come together in this collection of short stories, personal essays, poetry, and experimental writing. Get to know these 33 fabulous Colorado GLBT authors as they write about life, love, and living in Colorado:

David Alan, Dave Brown, Shannon Bullock, Christopher Caldwell, Suzanne Marie Calvin, Peter D. Clarke, Alex C. Dembicki, Sunshine Dempsey, darona draka, Laura Givens, Barry Jay Glass, Gretchen Haley, Tigre Haller, Shakirah C. Hemstrom, Aimee Herman, Deena Larsen, Carolee Laughton, Lisa Lusero, Frank Lyon, Lily Marlowe, Donaciano Martinez, Richard McComb, Kimberlee A. Miller, Frederick Lyle Morris, Debra A. Myers, Angela Palermo, Nick Sarchet, Melanie Stafford, Donald Stikeleather, Dan Stone, Nuclia Waste, Jerry L. Wheeler, Alysha Wood.

Available on Amazon.com



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s